Flyers announce 2012-2013 roster

Most of the Flyers remain from last year but there’s been a few changes (Courtesy Lady Neat

With only 24 hours until the puck drops on the 2012-2013 season, the Philadelphia Flyers have announced their roster.

The biggest surprise comes in the form of 18 year old first round draft pick Scott Laughton who will begin the year with the big club. The modified contract slide rules for this shortened season will allow him to play five games before “burning” a year on his entry-level contract.

Whether or not he will stay beyond those five games is unknown. However, when faced with the same situation last season, Sean Couturier ended up staying with the team all season.

It is expected that line combinations will resemble:

Scott Hartnell – Claude Giroux – Brayden Schenn
Max Talbot – Sean Couturier – Jakub Voracek
Matt Read – Scott Laughton – Wayne Simmonds
Ruslan Fedotenko – Eric Wellwood – Zac Rinaldo
Extra forwards: Jody Shelley, Tom Sestito

Kimmo Timonen – Luke Schenn
Nicklas Grossmann – Braydon Coburn
Andrej Meszaros – Kurtis Foster
Seventh Defenseman: Bruno Gervais

Ilya Bryzgalov
Michael Leighton

Non-roster designations for Chris Pronger, Matt Walker, Marc-Andre Bourdon, and Danny Briere are not yet known.

Andreas Lilja was recently waived after he fell to eighth on the depth chart when Kurtis Foster was signed. Lilja was assigned to the Phantoms where he will still hit the Flyers’ cap for $637,500.